Thumbnail

Teacher Bio | Valentina Dalan

Valentina Dalan

Valentina Dalan

Ciao! My name is Valentina and I am a native Italian teacher from Udine. I have been living in California since the end of July 2014. I have an undergraduate Italian degree in Italian Language and Italian Literature and two Master’s degrees; the first is for “MIM Mediation Inter-Mediterraneum: investment and integration” and the second is for “Educational Aspects of Artistic Disciplines in Humanities for Secondary School Teaching.” In 2008 I earned my Italian Secondary Teaching Certification and in 2014 I completed a program specializing in “Psycho-pedagogic approaches to teaching in high school”.

I am a dedicated Italian Teacher with strong experience teaching language and culture in Adult and Youth Education settings. I am passionate about assisting adult language learners to communicate. My background also includes experience in middle and high school teaching. In my experience as a teacher, I have developed engaging lesson plans for both language and cultural instruction. I like to utilize a variety of teaching methods (for example role-play, class debates and discussions…I like the idea that the student can learn Italian by having fun as well!) to present lessons and assess learning. Through my years of teaching children and adults, I have learned to create and design lessons that articulate a clear objective and the steps to reach that objective as an integral part of the lesson plan process. The student, or the group of students that I work with, their level of proficiency and their interests and strengths are all factored in to my lesson plans which are not only effective but also interesting. This, I believe, is fundamental if the student is to take center stage in the learning process. Over the years I have acquired and consolidated the ability to assess my students’ level of proficiency by observing and listening to their contributions. My teaching experience is complemented by academic research projects and volunteer involvement in different grades.

I’m multilingual (Italian, Spanish, English) and I have lived in Italy, Spain, and the US.

Some of my personal interests include reading and writing. I also enjoy running and playing with my two kids. I love cooking for my family and for my friends and I am an Italian coffee drinker (AMO IL CAFFE’)!! I also like to travel and visit other countries.

I am available for 1-on-1 or small group lessons. We can meet at your house, office or in a library as well as online via Skype.

Locations: Irvine, Laguna Beach, Tustin, Newport, Corona del Mar, Costa Mesa, Santa Ana, Lake Forrest and nearby areas.

Please feel free to contact me for pricing and scheduling.

Grazie mille, a presto

Return To Teachers